Damn - Its been a few since I've updated because I've been trying to get other parts of the Page up and running!!!  But things are smooth now - SO - lets get into this.

First off - One of The Wonderful Loving Fiancee's besties was in town over the weekend and her brother came with her.  He and I share a love of music and we were often found in the studio just messing with sounds and such.  I played him some old beats and he fell in love with this one.
The MUT #2
File Size: 4288 kb
File Type: mp3
Download File

This little diddy is from a project that I put together within the first year of my move to the Twin Cities.  It was called "The Mixed-Up Tape".  It was a crazy album idea that I had and this beat was rapped over by a few MC's.  The most popular of the tracks was Trama's.  We actually got a mention for it here: City Pages Minnesota Mix-Tape 2007

A few Saturdays ago I went to Macalester College and Judged their Battle of the Bands!!!  It was an epic brawl, guitars were smashed, vocal chords were strained, and someone covered The Smiths.  It was a damn good time and I thank the fellas at The Hip-Hop Providers for the judging option! Here is how the competition shook out:

1st Round:
Broken Gnome took the stage first - a subtle 4 piece buried deep down somewhere south.  They had a smooth take off - little blues, little R & B, threw in some harmonies and few guitar solos; jammin'.  Looking back I really enjoyed the vibe - the rest of the line up had some similar sounds, these guys stood alone.
Froot Flies were due up next - but they decided they were too punk rock for the battle and didn't show.
The A.J. Experiencewas up next.  The only thing these dudes were missing was some back-to-back guitar tapping action.  They attempted a layered sound of multiple rhythms and progressions all climaxing to nothing.  I was let down when they finally reached their goal - but the journey was nice.
Next up, Mother Faulkners. These guys were a silly bunch.  Right out the gate they dropped an awesome Smith's cover. (Big ups to AP!!!! Dub C!!!)  Their original song was not up to The Smith's standard but I didn't matter - that cover sealed it for me.
Replicas filled the stage next. A whopping 6 piece made this band the largest of the night.  Horns, Keys, Drums, 2 singers, 2 guitars, Synth, they were a busy bunch.  My favorite group of the night by far - their 2nd song had this very distinct 'haunting' quality about it.  I would love to hear a recorded version, matter-of-fact if anyone in that band is reading this - hit me up, I'll record it.
Lastly, Radiator Grrrls ended the first round.  The smallest band - a mere 3 piece - was in fact the most tight knit.  They were an all around judge favorite and had a very interesting 'surf' sound.  Beach Boys whhhhaaa?!

The judges all deliberated - punches were thrown - bottles were broken - Randy Jackson gave us words of wisdom, finally we re-entered the area armed with our choices for the final round: Radiator Grrrls, Replicas and Mother Faulkners.

The second round wasn't decided by us - it was up to the people.  Mother Faulkners let me down big time, saddly I wish I could take my vote back but C'est la vie.  Replicas came out with a ballad, a very surprising song choice for a closer.  I was quite happy with their performance.  But the night was owned by Radiator Grrrls - they came out with a hot burner.  Had they played this 2nd Jam in the 1st round.  I would have just thrown the towel in.  The people spoke and they said: Radiator Grrrls.

Lastly:



Leave a Reply.