That's right. There is nothing gross or misleading about that title.  Y'all are crazy!  Anyways...

Last year some good albums came out - A lot didn't. (AHEM Andre 3000 please stand up.....)  REGARDLESS - Two of my favorite albums of last year were:

Brothers - The Black Keys
It has been a long journey for the Black Keys.  I myself somehow missed them for most of it.  Luckily Phaust from Sinthesis made me pay attention.  I became hooked - every part of them.  I'd always been a fan of Jack White and The White Stripes.  But these guys were doing a 'bluesier' version of the two man (or in the Stripes case a Man and Lady) blues group.  Different styles would occasionally show up in some jams - but they always had that backbone blues down firm.  Then Brothers came along.  This is a whole-nother-best.  There is a TON of funk and soul dripping from this disk.  I played it all year - much to my Wonderful Loving Girlfriends dismay.  Luckily she caught the bug a few months later and now we be ROAD TRIPPIN to catch them in WI.

Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty - Big Boi
Give it UP for bad ass album names.  Big Boi is a BEAST.  This disk got me back into hip-hop.  I was worried because the last Outkast disk was a little off and then Speakerboxx/Love Below was just really one good disk and one bad disk. (I'll let you decide - Wink Wink)  But this album is bangin.  I love the ever changing beats.  Different styles: sample bassed - new age funk - soul - hip-hop its ALL here.  This disk will easily hold me over till the next Outkast album - or Andre.......   COME ON!!!

With that said - I was wandering around a bit on Bandcamp.  Setting up the Sinthesis page - SHAMELESS PLUG!!!  Killing Time by Sinthesis drops 4/1/11!!  MARK YOUR CALENDERS!!  Regardless I found this:
Picture
Thats right....  A MASH UP OF BOTH!!  Click on the picture to go to their Bandcamp and SNAG IT!


p.s. You can click the Killing Time up above for the Sinthesis EP too!!!



Leave a Reply.